Industry Achievement Award

The WRLA Industry Achievement Award is celebrating its 48th Anniversary in 2018. This award recognizes a member (past or present) of the WRLA who has contributed to their business, the building supply industry, the WRLA, and the communities in which they live.

Who's that one person who helped you in your career? Who's your greatest supporter, teacher, and mentor?

The WRLA is now collecting nominations for the annual Industry Achievement Award. Say thank you to someone who has guided your career or who has been a leader in your community and nominate them today. The LBM industry is full of strong leaders - and we want to celebrate them! Deadline for nominations is end of day on October 31, 2018.

The 2018 Industry Achievement Award will be awarded on January 17, 2019 during the Evening Networking Event held during the WRLA Buying Show.

Nomination Application


Any WRLA member including former members, current members, and their employees.

Nominating process

Nomination forms must be completed and submitted to the WRLA Office by end of day on October 31, 2018. The nominee should be interviewed by the nominator in the process of completing this form. In addition, all nominees are interviewed by the President of the WRLA using a standard set of questions.


The WRLA Board of Directors will carefully evaluate all nominations and select the recipient at the following WRLA Board meeting.

Presentation of award

The recipient will be notified as the selected winner prior to the award reception. They will be asked to attend a pre-award reception on Thursday January 17th at the Hyatt Regency Hotel. The award recipient will be announced to all WRLA members at the January 17th Networking and Awards event.

Congratulations to 2017 Industry Achievement Recipient - Stan Burkholder! 

The veteran of 43 years credits his father and uncle for an early introduction to the Retail Lumber Industry.
I grew up in the industry. We had a family-run business that was built on service, respect and honesty.
Early in my life, my father and uncle instilled a strong work ethic and a passion for the industry

I was fortunate to take my years of experience in the industry and translate that into a training position with the WRLA and other associations in Canada.
My job takes me on the road for about 120 days of the year. In my position, I lead several industry related courses across Canada.
As a subcontractor, I have been fortunate to train many people who make up the building material industry work force.

Burkholder’s interactions with past WRLA Industry Achievement Award winners makes the award that much more special.
In this industry, I have been fortunate to work alongside very talented folks. Several of whom have won the award.
I see firsthand how passionate they are and how important the industry is to them and their respective families.
This is what makes winning so special to me and my family.

Congrats Stan!

Past Industry Achievement Recipients

2017 Stan Burkholder Industry Trainer & Advocate Bluesky, AB
2016 Doug Lemieux L.B.H Building Centres Inc./ Onoway TIMBER Mart St. Albert
2015 Vic Lemieux Econo Lumber Mart Prince Albert
2014 Martha Konantz North American Lumber Winnipeg
2013 Grant Wilson Wood Country Building Supply McLean
2012 Rod Mancini DomTek Building Products Selkirk
2011  Ernie Penner EG Penner Building Centres Steinbach
2010 Matt Stayner TimberTown Building Centre Ltd. Calgary
2009 Frank Perra Lancashire Distribution Regina
2008 Gord Wiebe All Weather Windows Ltd. Edmonton
2007 David Holst Warman Home Centre Warman
2006 Provan Wylie Castle Building Centres Group Ontario
2005 Merv Weiss Merv Weiss Consulting Saskatoon
2004 Harold Tiemstra Can-Cell Industries Inc. Edmonton
2003 Jim Thorogood Totem Building Supplies Ltd. Calgary
Ken Sexton
Cam White
Kenroc Building Materials Ltd.
Taiga Forest Products
2001 Judy Huston WRLA Winnipeg
2000 Chuck Fisher C.A. Fisher Lumber Co. Ltd. Edmonton
1999 Raymond Nelson Nelson Lumber Lloydminster

© 2016-2018 Western Retail Lumber Association. All trademarks, service marks, logos, graphics, product names and company names are the property of their respective owners.