Industry Achievement Awards

This award is our association’s greatest honour! It recognizes members of the WRLA who have contributed to their business, the building supply industry, WRLA and the communities in which they live. Starting in 1970, the Mr. Lumberman title has been awarded. At the Annual General Meeting in January of 1999, the title of the award was changed to reflect the changing industry. Today, it is known as the WRLA Industry Achievement Award. Initially, the selection was made by the Board of Directors of the Association. At the Annual General Meeting in 1987, the Board decided the nomination of the recipient should rest with the WRLA Members.

The WRLA wants to recognize the individual who is or has been actively involved in the building supply industry, who has faced challenges and recognized opportunities, and who wishes to share best practices with the association. This individual has received the respect of fellow members of the association through contributions to the industry, the community, and the WRLA.

Congratulations to 2017 Industry Achievement Recipient - Stan Burkholder! 

The veteran of 43 years credits his father and uncle for an early introduction to the Retail Lumber Industry.
I grew up in the industry. We had a family-run business that was built on service, respect and honesty.
Early in my life, my father and uncle instilled a strong work ethic and a passion for the industry

I was fortunate to take my years of experience in the industry and translate that into a training position with the WRLA and other associations in Canada.
My job takes me on the road for about 120 days of the year. In my position, I lead several industry related courses across Canada.
As a subcontractor, I have been fortunate to train many people who make up the building material industry work force.

Burkholder’s interactions with past WRLA Industry Achievement Award winners makes the award that much more special.
In this industry, I have been fortunate to work alongside very talented folks. Several of whom have won the award.
I see firsthand how passionate they are and how important the industry is to them and their respective families.
This is what makes winning so special to me and my family.

Congrats Stan!

2018 Nominating Process:

  1. Nomination forms must be completed and submitted to the WRLA Office by September 3, 2018. The nominee will be interviewed by Liz Kovach, WRLA President.
  2. The WRLA Board of Directors will carefully evaluate all nominations and select the recipient at the WRLA October Board meeting.
  3. The recipient will be notified by mid October and invited to receive their award during the annual 2018 WRLA Buying Show in Calgary.

We invite you to honour your colleague, your vendor, your competitor or your friend.

Industry Achievement Nomination Form

Past Industry Achievement Recipients

2017 Stan Burkholder Industry Trainer & Advocate Bluesky, AB
2016 Doug Lemieux L.B.H Building Centres Inc./ Onoway TIMBER Mart St. Albert
2015 Vic Lemieux Econo Lumber Mart Prince Albert
2014 Martha Konantz North American Lumber Winnipeg
2013 Grant Wilson Wood Country Building Supply McLean
2012 Rod Mancini DomTek Building Products Selkirk
2011  Ernie Penner EG Penner Building Centres Steinbach
2010 Matt Stayner TimberTown Building Centre Ltd. Calgary
2009 Frank Perra Lancashire Distribution Regina
2008 Gord Wiebe All Weather Windows Ltd. Edmonton
2007 David Holst Warman Home Centre Warman
2006 Provan Wylie Castle Building Centres Group Ontario
2005 Merv Weiss Merv Weiss Consulting Saskatoon
2004 Harold Tiemstra Can-Cell Industries Inc. Edmonton
2003 Jim Thorogood Totem Building Supplies Ltd. Calgary
Ken Sexton
Cam White
Kenroc Building Materials Ltd.
Taiga Forest Products
2001 Judy Huston WRLA Winnipeg
2000 Chuck Fisher C.A. Fisher Lumber Co. Ltd. Edmonton
1999 Raymond Nelson Nelson Lumber Lloydminster

© 2018 Western Retail Lumber Association. All trademarks, service marks, logos, graphics, product names and company names are the property of their respective owners.