Industry Achievement Award

Industry Achievement & Mr. Lumberman Award



Vic Lemieux
2015 Recipient

The WRLA has honoured one of its members through the Mr. Lumberman Award since 1970. At the Annual General Meeting in January of 1999, the title of the award was changed to reflect the changing industry. It is now known as the WRLA Industry Achievement Award.

Initially, the selection was made by the Board of Directors of the Association. At the Annual General Meeting in 1987, the Board of Directors decided that the nomination of the recipient should rest with the WRLA Members.

The WRLA Industry Achievement Award is celebrating its 45th Anniversary in 2016. This award recognizes members of the WRLA who have contributed to their business, the building supply industry, the WRLA and the communities in which they live.  

Please join us in congratulating our 2015 Industry Achievement recipient, Vic Lemieux of Econo Lumber, Prince Albert, SK.



This Is Our Association’s Greatest Honour



Martha Konantz 
2014 Recipient

The WRLA wants to recognize the individual who is or has been actively involved in the building supply industry, who has faced challenges and recognized opportunities, and who wishes to share best practices with the association.  This individual has received the respect of fellow members of the association through contributions to the industry, the community, and the WRLA. 

We invite you to honour your colleague, your vendor, your competitor or your friend.    

Eligibility:  Any WRLA member including former members, current members, and their employees 

Nominating Process:  Nomination forms must be completed and submitted to the WRLA Office by September 2, 2016. The nominee will be interviewed by Gary Hamilton, WRLA President.

Selection:  The WRLA Board of Directors will carefully evaluate all nominations and select the recipient at the WRLA October Board meeting.

Presentation of Award:  The recipient will be notified by mid October and invited to receive their award at the Awards Banquet on January 19, 2017 during the annual WRLA Buying Show in Calgary.

Click here to download 2016 Industry Achievement Nomination Form


Industry Achievement Recipients

2015 Vic Lemieux Econo Lumber Mart Prince Albert, SK
2014 Martha Konantz North American Lumber Winnipeg, MB
2013 Grant Wilson Wood Country Building Supply McLean, SK
2012 Rod Mancini DomTek Building Products Selkirk
2011  Ernie Penner EG Penner Building Centres Steinbach
2010 Matt Stayner TimberTown Building Centre Ltd. Calgary
2009 Frank Perra Lancashire Distribution Regina
2008 Gord Wiebe All Weather Windows Ltd. Edmonton
2007 David Holst Warman Home Centre Warman
2006 Provan Wylie Castle Building Centres Group Ontario
2005 Merv Weiss Merv Weiss Consulting Saskatoon
2004 Harold Tiemstra Can-Cell Industries Inc. Edmonton
2003 Jim Thorogood Totem Building Supplies Ltd. Calgary
Ken Sexton
Cam White
Kenroc Building Materials Ltd.
Taiga Forest Products
2001 Judy Huston WRLA Winnipeg
2000 Chuck Fisher C.A. Fisher Lumber Co. Ltd. Edmonton
1999 Raymond Nelson Nelson Lumber Lloydminster